Saborío named in Costa Rica roster for Gold Cup

Real Salt Lake striker one of 11 Ticos abroad to receive a call

Real Salt Lake striker Álvaro Saborío was named in the final list of 23
players for Costa Rica that will contend in the Gold Cup in June.

Saborío, who is still trying to find his torrid form from 2010,
survived the cut from a preliminary list of 31 players named in early
May. He is one of 11 Costa Rican nationals playing abroad that made the
final list announced by manager Ricardo La Volpe on Saturday.

The list also features a heavy dose of players from Costa Rica clubs
Alajuelense and 2010-11 CONCACAF Champions League semifinalists

It is still unknown whether Saborío will also be named in the Costa Rica squad that will partake in July’s Copa América. Los Ticos
received an invite to the tournament after Japan pulled out of the
competition and will take a roster consisting of Under-23 players
bolstered by five senior members.

Costa Rica sit in Group A of the Gold Cup, alongside defending champions Mexico, El Salvador and Cuba. Los Ticos
best performance in the tournament was in 2002, when they lost 2-0 in
the final to the United States. This year mark's their 11th
participation in the regional tournament.


GOALKEEPERS: Keylor Navas (Albacete/Spain), Donny Grant (San Carlos/Costa Rica)

DEFENDERS: Bryan Oviedo (Nordsjaelland/Denmark), Oscar
Duarte (Saprissa/Costa Rica), Dennis Marshall (Aalborg BK/Denmark),
Heiner Mora (Saprissa/Costa Rica), Jhonny Acosta (Alajuelense/Costa
Rica), Júnior Díaz (Brugge KV/Belgium), José Salvatierra
(Alajuelense/Costa Rica), Cristian Gamboa (Fredrikstad/Norway)

MIDFIELDERS: David Guzmán (Saprissa/Costa Rica), Diego
Madrigal (Cerro Porteño/Paraguay), Celso Borges (Fredrikstad/Norway),
José Miguel Cubero (Herediano/Costa Rica), Allen Guevara
(Alajuelense/Costa Rica)

FORWARDS: Marco Ureña (FC Kuban/Russia), Josué
Martínez (Saprissa/Costa Rica), Cristian Bolaños (Copenhagen/Denmark),
Bryan Ruiz (Twente/Holland), Randall Brenes (Cartaginés/Costa Rica),
Joel Campbell (Saprissa/Costa Rica), Álvaro Saborío (RSL)