Foolin' Around with the RMC

Have no fear, the Cup's staying here!

Wingert_RMC_2008 (620x350)

Photo Credit: 
Garrett Ellwood / Major League Soccer

SANDY, Utah (Friday, April 1, 2011) – In the spirit of April
Fool’s Day, Real Salt Lake would like to clarify that the Rocky Mountain Cup series
and trophy against the Colorado Rapids has NOT been retired, cancelled,
eliminated, ended … or any other term which would signify its demise. The 2011
edition of the Rocky Mountain Cup, widely recognized as the best rivalry in
Major League Soccer, will again be played over two legs, beginning in just
under two weeks at Rio Tinto Stadium on Wednesday, April 13.

“We know what these games against Colorado have meant to our
supporters in the past, and we look forward to handing the Rocky Mountain Cup over
to them once again in 2011,” said RSL defender and five-time RMC winner Chris
Wingert. “We’re looking forward to our fans creating another great atmosphere at
Rio Tinto Stadium for the first leg on the 13th.”

Kickoff for the opening leg in Sandy – where Real Salt Lake
will look to continue its MLS record 26-game undefeated streak – is set for
7:00 p.m. MT. Tickets for what is sure to be another hotly-contested Rocky
Mountain Cup affair can be purchased online via the Zions Bank Ticket Outlet at,
over the phone at 801-727-2700, or in person at the Rio Tinto Stadium Box
Office Monday-Friday from 10:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.

The return match will once again be a late-season affair in
Colorado, with the teams set to square off at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in
Commerce City on Friday, October 14.

The Rocky Mountain Cup (RMC) was originally established in
2005 by Supporters Groups from both sides as a friendly competition in which
the winner of the season series between the two teams would win the Cup and be
recognized as the best team from the Rocky Mountain region.

The Rapids won the first two editions of the tournament in
2005 and 2006 before RSL claimed its first RMC in 2007. The teams have tied the
last three season series, therefore allowing Real Salt Lake to retain the Cup
following each campaign.