RSL, Rapids to Retire Rocky Mountain Cup

Trophy to see its last match in Sandy on April 13

RMC_away_fans (620x350)

Photo Credit: 
Marc Piscotty / Getty Images

Sandy, UTAH & Commerce City, COLO. (April 1, 2011) - The Colorado Rapids and Real Salt Lake -
winners of the last two MLS Cup titles - jointly announced that the clubs will
be retiring the Rocky Mountain Cup when the teams meet on April 13 at Rio Tinto

The Rocky Mountain Cup (RMC) was originally established in 2005 by Supporters
Groups from both sides as a friendly competition in which the winner of the
season series between the two teams would win the Cup and be recognized as the
best team from the Rocky Mountain region.

The Rapids won the first two editions of the tournament in 2005 and 2006 before
RSL claimed its first RMC in 2007. The teams have tied the last three season
series, therefore Salt Lake has retained the Cup following each campaign. With
the teams once again facing each only twice in 2011, the clubs could not agree
on adjusting the tie-breaking procedures which were established at a time when
the teams were meeting on three or more occasions.

As holder of the Rocky Mountain Cup, the clubs agreed for RSL to host its
retirement ceremony prior to kick off on April 13.