Real Salt Lake could play CCL finale at Rio Tinto

CONCACAF reveals finals schedule, first leg set for Mexico

Saborio celebrates RSL's CCL win

Photo Credit: 
MEXSPORT

CONCACAF released its schedule for the Champions League Finals on Wednesday, and Real Salt Lake could be in line to host a memorable final match at Rio Tinto Stadium.

The first leg of the two-game aggregate-goal series will take place on April 20, with the return leg occurring a week later on April 27. Both matches are Wednesday affairs to help avoid conflicts with league play.

Real Salt Lake currently hold a two-goal advantage over Saprissa in their semifinal matchup. They will face Saprissa in San José, Costa Rica, on April 5, and should they maintain their edge in the series, RSL will play on the road in the first game of the final.

Should Real Salt Lake advance, they will take on the winner of the two
Mexican sides: Monterrey and Cruz Azul. Monterrey take a 2-1 advantage
on the road to Mexico City, where they will face Cruz Azul to determine
which club advances.

RSL
faced off twice against Cruz Azul in the group stages, including a 3-1
victory at Rio Tinto Stadium that helped the MLS side clinch their
group.

CONCACAF Champions League Finals

1st Leg - Wed., April 20

If Monterrey vs. Saprissa / Real Salt Lake – 10 pm ET (9pm local in Mexico) / 8 pm MT in Salt Lake

If Cruz Azul vs. Saprissa / Real Salt Lake – 8pm ET (7pm local in Mexico) / 6 pm MT in Salt Lake

2nd Leg - Wed., April 27

Real Salt Lake / Saprissa vs. Monterrey / Cruz Azul – 10pm ET (8pm local)