Kreis Named to National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot

RSL sideline boss, legendary MLS striker one of six new candidates for honor

Kreis_shot-v-NY (620x350)

Photo Credit: 
Kent Horner / Major League Soccer


RSL Head Coach among Six First-timers on List of 25
Eligible Players;

Voting Concludes March 11, Followed by Early Spring
Announcement of the “Class of 2011”


SANDY, Utah / CHICAGO (Thursday, February
17, 2011) – Ballots have been finalized for the National
Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2011
and voting will begin immediately for
the Player, Veteran Player and Builder
. Real Salt Lake Head
Coach Jason Kreis
is among six players making their first appearance on the
Player ballot this year, the debutant group including RSL alumnus Eddie Pope in addition to Chris Armas,
Cobi Jones, Carlos Llamosa, and Danielle Slaton.

25 players in total are included on the 2011 Player
ballot, including another American soccer stalwart with Claret-and-Cobalt ties,
recently-departed assistant coach Robin
. Voting will continue through March
, and the election results will be announced in early Spring.

“To be eligible for selection to the National
Soccer Hall of Fame is truly an honor, especially considering the talented
individuals I share the ballot with,” said Kreis. “Having played alongside or
against so many players on the list I can personally attest to the strength of
this year’s candidates. Whoever earns the great distinction of being named to
the ‘Class of 2011’ will certainly have earned it.”

A player whose immense talent was surpassed
only by his legendary work ethic, Kreis enjoyed a standout 12-season Major
League Soccer career with FC Dallas (1996-2004) and Real Salt Lake (2005-2007)
before hanging up his cleats as the captain of the Utah side to become its
second head coach in May 2007. The Duke University product would not take long
to prove wrong those who doubted his ability to perform at the next level, his
13-goal, five-assist output during his 1996 rookie campaign in Dallas setting
the stage for a career during which he would tally 74 assists and 108 goals,
the latter standing as the most in MLS history at the time of his retirement
and currently the fourth most in League annals. The many highlights on Kreis’
list of accolades during his illustrious playing career include his selection
as the first American-born player to win the MLS Most Valuable Player award
(1999) and 14 “caps” as a member of the U.S. Men’s National Team (1996-2000).

Click here to view Jason
Kreis’ full bio at

In order to be eligible for election as a
Player, an individual must be retired as a player for between three and 10
calendar years and have either: 1) Played in at least 20 international games
for the U.S., or 2) Played at least five seasons in an American first division
professional league and be named to a post-season all-league or all-star team
at least once.

The voting pool includes all Hall of Famers,
select soccer administrators and designated media members. Each voter can list
up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent
of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least
five percent of ballots will be dropped from the Player ballot.

2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player

Chris Armas *

Mike Burns

Mauricio Cienfuegos

Raul Diaz Arce

Marco Etcheverry


Chris Henderson

Cobi Jones *

Kreis *

Roy Lassiter

Carlos Llamosa *

Shannon MacMillan

Joe-Max Moore

Victor Nogueira

Peter Nowak

John O’Brien

Cindy Parlow

Pope *

Tiffany Roberts

Danielle Slaton *

Earnie Stewart

Steve Trittschuh ^

Carlos Valderrama

Tisha Venturini-Hoch

Peter Vermes

* First year of

^ Final year of eligibility; moves to
Veteran ballot in 2012


In addition to the Player ballot, voting is
also underway in the Veteran Player and Builder categories. Ten players are up
for selection on the Veteran ballot, which is voted on only by current Hall of
Famers. Voters can name up to five candidates, and the top vote-getter will be
elected as long as he or she appears on a minimum of 50 percent of the ballots.
If no Veteran appears on 50 percent of the ballots then no one will be elected
on the 2011 ballot. More than one candidate may be elected in the event of a

Eligibility for the Veteran ballot is the
same as the Player ballot except that a player must be retired for more than 10
years. Further, the U.S. National Team cap requirement is lowered from 20 to 10
if the 10 caps came prior to 1990.

2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame Veteran

Desmond Armstrong

George Best

Julio Cantillo

Teofilo Cubillas

John Doyle

Linda Hamilton

Bill McPherson

Shep Messing

Bruce Murray

Glenn Myernick


The 2011 Builder ballot includes seven
individuals selected by a screening committee and follows the same procedures
for election as the Veteran ballot, although the voting pool is expanded to
also include select soccer administrators.

Builders are nominated by making their mark
in the soccer community in a non-playing capacity while sustaining a major and
positive impact on U.S. Soccer on a national or professional level for 10
years. Referees must serve as a FIFA referee for at least seven years to be

2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame Builder

Chuck Blazer

Bob Contiguglia

Tony DiCicco

Bob Gansler

Francisco Marcos

Fritz Marth

Sigi Schmid


Complete information about the election and
eligibility procedures is available
online at

The National Soccer Hall of Fame closed its
Oneonta, N.Y., facility in 2010 and during this transitional period the
election process is being administered by U.S. Soccer Federation staff under
election and eligibility guidelines established by the Hall of Fame board of

Established in 1950, the National Soccer Hall
of Fame is dedicated to the sport of soccer in America by celebrating its
history, preserving its legacy, inspiring its youth and honoring its heroes for
generations to come. / /