RSL's Alvaro Saborio Named MLS 2010 Newcomer of the Year

Costa Rican international tallied 18 goals across MLS & CCL play in first season in Salt Lake

LAKE’S Álvaro SaborÍO NAMED MLS 2010

High-scoring Costa Rican Forward Becomes Second RSL
Player to be Recognized by Major League Soccer at Season’s End


Utah / NEW YORK (Wednesday, November 10, 2010)
League Soccer
today announced that Real Salt Lake FW Álvaro Saborío has
been named the League’s 2010 Newcomer of the Year
, as voted on by his
fellow players, coaches, general managers, and media. The 28-year-old Saborío
beat out two New York Red Bull players – MF Joel Lindpere and FW Thierry Henry
– to become the fourth player to earn the award since the League began
bestowing it in 2007.


answered the question of who would pick up departed striker Yura Movsisyan’s
scoring slack in 2010 resoundingly, leading Real Salt Lake in scoring in both
League play (12 goals – 8th on MLS Golden Boot chart) and during its
maiden appearance in the CONCACAF Champions League (6 goals – T-2nd
in the 2010 portion of the competition). His introduction to the
Claret-and-Cobalt faithful at Rio Tinto Stadium was a dramatic one, as he came
off the bench to head home the equalizing goal in the 94th minute
against Seattle Sounders FC on April 10, punctuating the squad’s Championship
celebration evening and keeping alive what would later become the longest home
unbeaten run in League history.


Saborio’s scoring total was prolific, his goals were also clutch, as the Costa
Rican international tallied five match-winners and ended the regular season
with a flourish, his double in stoppage time at Colorado single-handedly
allowing RSL to earn a 2-2 draw and continue its team-record 14-match
undefeated run in League play.
While MLS competition is the focus for all awards,
factoring in RSL’s 2010/11 CONCACAF success brings Saborío’s totals to 18 goals
in 32 games – the scoring haul equal to MVP candidate and MLS Golden Boot
winner Chris Wondolowski of San Jose during the MLS regular season
The Costa Rican international w
as thrice recognized by MLS during his first year in the
League, earning two Player of the Week awards (Week
and Week
) and the title of MLS
Player of the Month for May


is the first member of Real Salt Lake to capture the Newcomer of the Year honor
from MLS, and the second RSL player to win a League award this season, joining
Defender of the Year honoree Jamison Olave. The duo are the newest
members of an elite list of players who have donned the Claret-and-Cobalt and
garnered end-of-season awards from Major League Soccer, with past winners
including Will Johnson (2008 Goal of the Year), Jeff Cunningham
(2006 Golden Boot and Best XI Team), Chris Klein (2006 Fair Play Award),
and Brian Kamler (2005 Humanitarian of the Year). Head Coach Jason
can add to that growing list of award winners, as the RSL sideline
boss is among the trio of candidates for the MLS Coach of the Year honor, which
will be named tomorrow, Thursday November 11.


Newcomer of the Year Award Winners

2010: Álvaro Saborío
– Real Salt Lake

2009: Fredy Montero –
Seattle Sounders FC

2008: Darren Huckerby –
San Jose Earthquakes

2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C.

MLS 2010 Awards
Announcements Schedule
(Schedule subject to

November 3: Rookie of the Year
(Andy Najar – D.C. United), Fair Play Individual (Sebastian Le Toux –
Philadelphia Union) & Team of the Year (San Jose Earthquakes), and
Goalkeeper of the Year (Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy)

November 5: Visa Defender of
the Year (Jamison Olave – Real Salt Lake)
and adidas Referee of the Year
(Kevin Stott)/Assistant Referee of the Year (Craig Lowry)

November 8: MLS W.O.R.K.S.
Humanitarian of the Year (Seth Stammler—New York Red Bulls)

November 10: Newcomer of the
Year (Álvaro Saborío – Real Salt Lake)
and Comeback Player of the Year
Convey – San Jose Earthquakes)

November 11: MLS Coach of the

November 15: 2010 MLS Best XI

November 17: AT&T Goal of the
Year and NAPA Auto Parts Save of the Year

November 19: Volkswagen MVP &
Commissioner’s Award / / /